The area is recognised as one of outstanding natural beauty, comprising four principal village parishes, their associated hamlets and adjoining areas:-
Situated 5 miles S.E. of Canterbury
Grid reference TR198531
Parish church: St. Giles
The ‘Kingston Brooch’, an important piece of Anglo-Saxon jewellery dating from the 7th Century. It was discovered in a Tumulus on Kingston Downs in 1771 by Rev’d. Brian Faussett who was the Rector. It is 8 cm in diameter, made of gold, with garnet, blue glass and shell settings. Now on display in the World Museum, Liverpool.
The Street includes a mixture of building styles, some listed buildings, old farmhouses and cottages interspersed with 20th century dwellings. Reminders of Kingston’s predominantly agricultural past are frequent; halfway up The Street is the Bam, now the Village Hall but once a cow-byre. By contrast, Covet Lane, which runs almost parallel to The Street and accessed by Church Lane, is the best lane in the district for landscape beauty, historic interest and variety of flora. The parish is well served by footpaths and bridleways for those wishing to explore, including sections of the North Downs Way and the Elham Valley Walk.